top of page

I'm Writing a Book!


I go to a performing arts high school in Wisconsin. In this school I study writing. We all have to do a senior portfolio project. For this I decide to combine three of my big passions; poetry, photography and culture.

I have been writing poetry for about six years now. I have been competing in poetry for the same amount of time with my own poems. I have won gold at state four years in a row and numerous other medals through the seasons. I wanted to use my passion in poetry to drive my photography. I have seen several other pets do something similar. One of the biggest influences on my decision was Iain S. Thomas. (https://iainsthomas.com) I found his work very compelling. Though I couldn't just write a book without meaning behind it.

Throughout my years in high school, I have had the privilege of studying Chinese as well as Aikido (Japanese martial art). This brought to my attention that many Americans have little to no understanding of how eastern culture functions. I often find people making commentary that can be considered offensive without them ever realizing it.

Using this, I will be focusing my writing around this area. I want to break down some of the barriers between eastern and western culture, as well as the "us and them" complex. I am travelling to Japan this summer with my Aikido teacher to gain more experience and get a first hand perspective to use in this book.

The book will be finished in early February of 2019. I will continue to update you guys on how I am making progress as well as some excepts of my writing. Please look forward to it and let me know what you think!

Im leaving a link to my formal proposal below. If you want a more in depth overview of what I will be working on feel free to check out my Google Doc.

Proposal: https://docs.google.com/document/d/10HojTufP1uMobJokzI77Bn6VfRPDlH-221RzgwP1IyM/edit?usp=sharing


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page